Technology Services > About

Our Staff

The Technology Services department includes six offices which report to the Chief Information Officer, Doug Rigney.  

Technology Services Units

Office of the Chief Information Officer

Chief Information Officer: Doug Rigney  

The office of the Chief Information Officer oversees all technology-related services provided by the Technology Services department. The CIO is responsible for creation and maintenance of a strategic technology plan and ensuring the department is aligned with the overall university strategic plan.

Office of the Chief Information Officer

Deputy Chief Information Officer: Debi Whitcomb 

The Deputy Chief Information Officer is responsible for managing various Technology Services and campus-wide projects to enhance the mission of the University. This is also responsible for the implementation of ITIL best practices.

Enterprise Applications Group

Director: Angeline Jackson  

The Enterprise Applications Group is responsible for the development and maintenance of all administrative applications. This unit oversees all SunGard Banner ERP related functions and integrations. Other areas of oversight include project management and application development. 

Enterprise Systems Group

Director: Tim McRae

The Enterprise Systems Group includes all technology infrastructure related services including networking, server administration, and data center operations. This unit is responsible for ensuring reliability of the Samford network and servers that support the hundreds of academic and administrative services. 

IT Security & Compliance 

Director: Dennis Self

The IT Security & Compliance Group oversees all technology security and compliance related matters. The Director of IT Security & Compliance also serves as the university‚Äôs information security office (ISO). This unit works with other areas within Technology Services to build a secure computing environment for students, faculty, and staff. Technology related policy development is also included in this area. 

Learning Applications Group

Director: Chad Owens 

The Learning Applications Group is responsible for academic computing technologies and instructional technology support. This includes the student computer labs and Technology in Learning Center. The unit supports all classroom technology and applications directly related to learning, including the online learning management system. 

Enterprise Support Services Group  

Director: Frank Martin 

The Personal Technology Group includes all desktop support and help desk services. Through the help desk this unit supports all technologies made available through the department. The desktop support team ensures timely replacement of all computing devices as part of the replacement cycle. The group also evaluates new administrative and academic computing systems.  


Distributed IT Areas

Beeson Divinity School

Robert Willis 


Beeson Law Library

Grace Simms   



Romar Smith 

205-726 2648

Cumberland School of Law

Jeff Whitcomb  


Ida V. Moffett School of Nursing

Doug Davis  


McWhorter School of Pharmacy

Chris Roper   


Orlean Bullard Beeson School of Education 

Chris Roper   


Technology Services 

Jason Smith   


Web Services

Todd Cotton


University Library

Ed Cherry

Catherine Evans



technology help center


phone support


Service Desk, offices, computer labs


Submit a Service Desk Request
online support center


Submit a Project Request
online project system


Technology in Learning Center
services and equipment checkout


tools and information


Change Password
self-service password tools


workshop schedule and tools