Samford University

Academic Affairs Committee

Committee on Academic Affairs

See Document Archives for committee minutes.

Committee Members

    Julie Steward



    Scott McGinnis



    Eric Fournier



    Barbara Cartledge



    David Hogg



    Kristie Chandler (Chair)



    Pat Terry



    LaJuana Davis



    Elizabeth Wells



    Cindy Berry



    David Glenn


    School of Arts

    Jeff Kyle



Ex-Officio Members

    Ex-officio members: Chris Metress (Provost designee), Eric Fournier (Center for Teaching and Learning), and Jay Flynn (University Registrar).

Meeting Dates

Meets on the second Thursday of the month at 3:00 p.m. in OBB 311.


This committee shall have responsibility to study, evaluate, and recommend policies concerning the academic affairs of the University in five areas, working with the Center for Teaching, Learning and Scholarship and other resources as appropriate.

Committee Charges: See Faculty Handbook (A1.5.9.2 pg. 15) 

1. Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship.  Concerns include but are
    not limited to:
    a. Evaluation of faculty by various groups (e.g. peer reviews,
        student evaluations)
    b. Processes for enhancing teaching, learning, and scholarship
    c. Encouragement of and support for faculty research, including
       solicitation, review, and prioritization of faculty proposals for
       internally funded research and development grants

2. Faculty Development.  Concerns include but are not limited to:
    a. Orientation of new faculty
    b. Mentoring of new faculty
    c. Identifying faculty development opportunities and faculty 
       training programs
    d. Sabbaticals
    e. Visiting scholar programs

3. Academic Administration.  Concerns include but are not limited
    a. Admissions
    b. Academic dishonesty
    c. Academic probation and suspension
    d. Academic calendar
    e. Student retention

4. Academic Freedom Complaints.  This committee shall review
    written complaints regarding academic freedom as outlined in
    section A6.3 of this Handbook.

5. Academic Program Approval.  This committee shall review and
    recommend applications for new academic programs, and
    substantive revisions to existing programs and requirements.

Composition (Faculty):
Arts and Sciences (3)        Education (1)        Arts (1)
Business (1)                    Law (1)                Nursing (1)
Divinity (1)                      Library (1)            Pharmacy (1)

Ex-officio (non-voting):
Provost or Designee; Dean of Academic Services; Director of Teaching, Learning and Scholarship; Student

Total:  11 voting; 4 non-voting